A Brief History...

South Daytona, a progressive city on the Halifax River, was once a town called Blake, with some 40 resident families and as many more non-resident property holders. The land was peculiarly adapted to orange culture and vegetable gardening, in which many of the settlers were profitably engaged. According to the National Archives and Records in Washington, D.C., Blake opened its first post office on August 19, 1878. Around 1886 the first train came as far as Daytona, and ten years later, the line extended to Miami. Soon thereafter, a railroad station was built at Big Tree Road crossing.

By 1926, the towns of Daytona, Daytona Beach and Seabreeze were consolidated to make the City of Daytona Beach as we know it now. Daytona Beach then proceeded to annex all the adjacent territory including the Town of Blake. Because of new taxes and appraisals levied, residents of Blake were forced to hire an attorney and eventually, about 1928, succeeded in breaking away from Daytona Beach to become the incorporated town of South Daytona. Soon after World War II, the town adopted a Building Department, followed by a Planning & Zoning Board. Builders and developers soon became interested in the area and South Daytona started to grow. South Daytona was by then in a position to request financial help from the federal government for expansion of utilities, streets, etc. South Daytona was the first town in the Halifax Area, after Daytona Beach, to install sanitary sewers. The Town continued to grow and was incorporated as the City of South Daytona in 1951.

South Daytona has operated under a Council/Manager form of government since 1980, with the Mayor and 4 Councilmembers serving four year, staggered terms. The population has grown to approximately 14,000 and encompasses 4.0 square miles. There are roughly 45 miles of roadway, 40 miles of sewer lines and 55 miles of water lines through the City. The average elevation is 6.5 feet above sea level.

The Municipal Complex is located just south of Beville Road at 1672 South Ridgewood Avenue. Office hours are 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday. Offices located in the Complex are: City Administration, Human Resources, Fire and Police. The Parks & Recreation Department is located within the Piggotte Community Center, 504 Big Tree Road. The Department of Public Works is located at 1770 Segrave Street.

City Charter

City Codes

City Maps

A View of South Daytona

Contact Us

Debbie Fitz-Gerald,
Deputy City Clerk

City Hall
1672 S Ridgewood Ave
South Daytona, FL 32119
Get Directions